Skip to content

Metal From Finland Online Store


MFF Blogs are at!

Swallow The Sun

Genre: Metal, Melodic Metal, Melodic Death Metal, Doom Metal  |  Status: Active  |  Viewed: 22159 times

SWALLOW THE SUN To Livestream This Thursday's Show From Finland; To Perform Debut Album In Full

24 September 2013

Finland's SWALLOW THE SUN are embarking on a fall tour to celebrate the 10th anniversary of their landmark debut album, The Morning Never Came. The band's show, scheduled for Thursday, September 26th in Tampere in their native Finland, will be livestreamed globally (10 PM, UTC/6 PM, EDT). Swallow the Sun will perform the album in full, adding other tracks to the encore. Stream the event here and feel like you are front and center without ever having to leave the house! Swallow The Sun recently issued the following update in regards to the band lineup for The Morning Never Came Anniversary Tour. "Unfortunately Kai (Hahto) is unable to do the Morning Never Came anniversary gigs this fall, but on short notice we managed to get hold of a

Read the whole article »

Browse band info


The most luminous death/doom-metal act of Finland, SWALLOW THE SUN, got started in the turn of the millennium when the guitarist Juha Raivio collected a group of friends around him.
The first recording was well prepared during few years and now a rare collectors item, "Out of This Gloomy Light" was recorded in January 2003. This demo brought the first record deal with Firebox Records. Debut album, "The Morning Never Came" was released in November 2003 and brought SWALLOW THE SUN to the knowledge of metal world. Inferno-magazine chose the band as the newcomer of the year and Kerrang! gave full 5 K's to the album and quoted it as "One of the doom metals finest moments to date!".

SWALLOW THE SUN took hold of the live scene by touring clubs and festivals in Finland and abroad. Even though they spent many hours on the road, the work for next album was already on its way and the recordings for "Ghosts of Loss" started in February 2005. First single of the album, "Forgive Her...", went to Finnish Official Album Charts, positioning on fourth place and stayed there for six weeks. And more success came in following August when the album climbed to position eight and stayed weeks on the charts. Both these rare occasions in Finnish metal scene made the ground even firmer under SWALLOW THE SUN's rocketing success, in the rain of overwhelming reviews.

Once again, after touring Finland and other countries, the band closed itself in September 2006 to an island next to Helsinki to record their coming album "Hope". "Atmosphere on the island truly gave change to focus deeply on the work and of course a nice place to host our guests", says Juha Raivio. SWALLOW THE SUN had the privilege to have Jonas Renkse (Katatonia) and Tomi Joutsen (AMORPHIS) to appear as guest vocal on the album. The album has already received high praises in closed listening sessions and on 7th of February 2007, "Hope" will be released worldwide via Spinefarm Records. First single and it's video, "Don't Fall Asleep", was released on 10th of January 2007.

Top of page

News related to Swallow The Sun

Top of page



The Morning Never Came

  • Label: Firebox Records
  • Released: 2003

View all lyrics from "The Morning Never Came"

Ghosts Of Loss

  • Label: Firebox Records
  • Released: 2005

View all lyrics from "Ghosts Of Loss"


  • Label: Spinefarm Records
  • Released: 2007

View all lyrics from "Hope"

Plague of Butterflies

  • Label: Spinefarm
  • Released: 2008
  • 1. Losing the Sunsets
  • 2. Plague of Butterflies
  • 3. Evael 10:00
  • 4. Through Her Silvery Body (from ´Out of This Gloomy Light´ - demo)
  • 5. Out of This Gloomy Light (from ´Out of This Gloomy Light´ - demo)
  • 6. Under the Waves (from ´Out of This Gloomy Light´ - demo)
  • 7. Swallow (Horror pt.1) (from ´Out of This Gloomy Light´ - demo)
Reviews for "Plague of Butterflies"

Global Domination , Review Busters , Blistering , Sputnik Music , Metal-Rules

New Moon

  • Label: Spinefarm Records
  • Released: 2009
  • 1. These Woods Breathe Evil
  • 2. Falling World
  • 3. Sleepless Swans
  • 4. ...And Heavens Cried Blood
  • 5. Lights On The Lake (Horror pt. III)
  • 6. New Moon
  • 7. Servant Of Sorrow
  • 8. Weight Of The Dead

Emerald forest and the blackbird

  • Label: Spinefarm Records
  • Released: 2012
  • 1. Emerald forest and the blackbird
  • 2. This Cut Is The Deepest
  • 3. Hate, Lead This Way
  • 4. Cathedral Walls
  • 5. Hearts Wide Shut
  • 6. Silent Towers
  • 7. Labyrinth Of London (Horror Pt. IV)
  • 8. Of Death And Corruption
  • 9. April14th
  • 10. Night Will Forgive Us

Single / EP / MCD

Forgive Her (Single)

  • Label: Firebox Records
  • Released: 2005

View all lyrics from "Forgive Her (Single)"

Don't Fall Asleep (Single)

  • Label: Spinefarm Records
  • Released: 2006
  • 1. Don´t Fall Asleep (Horror pt.2) - (Radio Edit) (lyrics)
  • 2. These Low Lands
  • 3. Don´t Fall Asleep (Horror pt.2) (lyrics)

View all lyrics from "Don't Fall Asleep (Single)"

Reviews for "Don't Fall Asleep (Single)"

Overhook Music

Demo / Promo

Out Of This Gloomy Light (Demo Tape)

  • Label: Self
  • Released: 2003
  • 1. Through Her Silvery Body (lyrics)
  • 2. Out Of This Gloomy Light
  • 3. Swallow
  • 4. Under The Waves (lyrics)

View all lyrics from "Out Of This Gloomy Light (Demo Tape)"

Top of page


Pasi Pasanen
Mikko Kotamäki
Juha Raivio
Markus Jämsen
Matti Honkonen
Aleksi Munter

Contact Info:

info [at]

Management, Booking:
Juha Ruusunen
King Foo Entertainment Ltd Oy
Fredrikinkatu 61 A 7. krs / floor
Tel. +358 50 355 7876
Fax. +358 9 694 3350
juha [at]

Booking in Finland:
Juha Kyyrö
Fullsteam Agency
Tel +358 50 546 8187
juha [at]

Spinefarm Records
P.O. BOX 212
Tel. +358 9 454 2710
Fax +358 9 454 271 33
spinefarm [at]