Skip to content

Metal From Finland Online Store


MFF Blogs are at!


Genre: Metal, Grindcore, Death Metal  |  Status: Disbanded  |  Viewed: 7059 times

Finnish Supergroup UHRIJUHLA To Release Debut Via Svart Records In December

13 November 2012

Finnish supergroup UHRIJUHLA have announced December 7th as the release date for the band's debut album, Uhrijuhla, set for international release through Svart Records. Featuring members of XYSMA and CALLISTO, Uhrijuhla's self-titled debut follows a 7" single release and two videos.   Even though the band themselves would shun the description, there are enough reasons to call Uhrijuhla a "supergroup". Male vocalist Janitor Muurinen is best known from Xysma, the world's most criminally underrated death metal group, and guitarist Markus Myllykangas is the leading member of post-metal band Callisto. Female vocalist Olga is a successful solo artist in her own right. Most of the music and all of the lyrics are written by Kauko Röyhkä

Read the whole article »

Browse band info


They phoned me at work. They asked me if I could write an introduction to their upcoming compilation album. My last donut went down and I stifled a yawn. Thinking that the album has not a hope in hell of ever being released, I said, 'Let me get back to you on that," and hung up. Over the following days I, of course, wrote nothing. I thought that in this day and age of Summer Smash Hits and Ultimate Poprock Tribute Specials a compilation album is but a dismal conclusion to some artist's fifteen minutes of fame or a simple vehicle to take money away from customers. Someone releasing a compilation album actually worth a damn sounded like, don't know, a joke of Utopian proportions.

Unbeknownst to me, things however were falling together in rapid fashion. Somewhere along the line, the band and their label had come to a conclusion of things of necessary importance and the album was in process of serious preparation. And I, still somewhat guided by cynicism and suspicion, hadn't written a word. In fact, I have spent a few years of trying to get away from writing about music, therefore the mere idea of penning down few words to the booklet of a CD felt off-putting. However, I'm patently right saying that this double CD makes a great difference. It is not even a compilation CD as such, but a re-release of Xysma's entire back catalogue; from their oddball studio sessions to the first official demo tape and the three first albums originally released by rather miniscule a label, Comeback Records.

In 1988 or something, after listening to a countless number of rehearsal tapes that their vocalist Janitor (a.k.a. Joãnitor) week after week pushed my way it dawned on me that they had quite an interesting band in the making. Triggered by such bands as Napalm Death, Sore Throat and Carcass; Xysma (or Repulse, as they were called back then) in the relatively narrow and quickly worn-out grindcore scene had the enthusiasm and determination to make it happen. And they had a plethora of impressive songs lined up in their roster; songs that did not require a half dozen plays before you begun to get a grip on them. Sure, they were short motherfuckers, the songs were, but they carried some serious weight and value. Also, quite soon Xysma broke down barriers between Grindcore, Death Metal and the more traditional Heavy Metal, thus created something very much of their own.

Bearing in mind that we are dealing with the Xysma material around the year 1990, a span of something like four years in total, and disregarding the subsequent releases (namely; "Deluxe", "Lotto", "Singles" and "Girl On The Beach", all released by Spinefarm Records) we still have exceptionally broad-ranging material in our hands, travelling from blood-ripping grindcore to death-rasping hippie shit ending up somewhere in the region of downright groovy fucking music.

Xysma's influence on whole bunch of music genres goes probably beyond anything we can even dare to comprehend, I could easily put down several bands (influential in their own right, sometimes) who at some points of their careers were either powered by Xysma's musical insight or rode their karma, and then there were all the others who just threw their hands up in almost idolatrous worship. Venturing into clear-cut Rock'n'Roll rendering, hence a tad more commercial approach, Xysma shook off the general outlines of Metal music in later times, but most likely "Swarming Of The Maggots" demo and the albums "Above The Mind Of Morbidity", "Yeah" and "First & Magical" were the milestones that made the most indelible impression on the scene.

Even if this CD is merely a survey of one band's yesteryears, it soundly beats the wishy-washy Rock and Metal music of today and, as corny as it sounds, paves the way for untold generations. Not that I'd urge you to listen to this album until your very death, but it will save you in many troubled times, when you need a rest from the fucking shit you've secretly fallen into or when you simply want to enthuse over one of the finest metal music ever existed.

So, I'll leave you here now, crank the music up and relish it, or chop two thick white lines on the lid of the CD case. Have it your way.

(Biography by Spinefarm)

Top of page




  • Label: ComeBack Records
  • Released: 1991
  • 1. Why Am I?
  • 2. On The Hill Of Desecration
  • 3. Uranus Falls
  • 4. Aspirations
  • 5. a) Reflections Of Eternity
  • 6. b) First Sunbeams Of The New Beginning
  • 7. Above The Horizon
  • 8. Importance Of The Dimensionless Mirage
  • 9. Until I Reach The Unattainable
  • 10. There´s Only One Sun
  • 11. Written Into The Sky
  • 12. Into The Blue Of The Sky

First And Magical

  • Label: ComeBack Records
  • Released: 1993
  • 1. One More Time
  • 2. Souls Are Stolen
  • 3. Uranus Falls Again
  • 4. Turning
  • 5. You Can Call Everything in a Question
  • 6. My Mind Like a Heron
  • 7. Clouds Give me Consolation
  • 8. Can´t Imagine your Death (Face)
  • 9. Symbol
  • 10. It´s My Sound


  • Label: Spinefarm Records
  • Released: 1994
  • 1. I Feel Like Lou Reed
  • 2. Hard Without Tenderness
  • 3. Nice Pale
  • 4. Need
  • 5. Green Gas Station Jacket
  • 6. Le Mans 66
  • 7. So Divine
  • 8. Getting Emotional
  • 9. Head Off
  • 10. So Divine (Reprise)
  • 11. Viewmaster


  • Label: Spinefarm Records
  • Released: 1996
  • 1. Shortest Route
  • 2. We Just Came Inside
  • 3. Do´n´do
  • 4. New Gel In Town
  • 5. Aquanaut
  • 6. Shoes
  • 7. One Hell Of a Man
  • 8. The Tram
  • 9. Millionaire
  • 10. Bravado

Girl On The Beach

  • Label: Spinefarm Records
  • Released: 1998
  • 1. Fit
  • 2. I Saw Them Kissing
  • 3. Lamborghini
  • 4. Star
  • 5. Penniless
  • 6. Girl on the Beach
  • 7. Three Basic Things
  • 8. Dennis & Charlie
  • 9. Life in the Sea
  • 10. It`s About Time
  • 11. I`m Not Ready to Dance

Top of page


Kalle Taivainen
Teppo Pulli
Toni Stranius
Janitor Muurinen
Olli Nurminen

Former members

Vesa Litti
Bass 1988 - 1992