The group's earliest formation consisted of cousins Ville Sorvali (vocals and bass) and Henri Sorvali (guitar and keyboards) who released various demos that were much more characteristic of melodic black metal than future releases.

Their debut album, Suden Uni, recorded in early 2000, was released in 2001, along with Tämä Ikuinen Talvi (This Everlasting Winter), a re-release of a 1999 demo. Suden Uni (A Wolf's Dream) was acclaimed by fans and reviews with its epic combination of Finnish paganism and folk elements. After recruiting Mitja Harvilahti and Markus Eurén, Moonsorrow started their first shows, releasing Voimasta Ja Kunniasta (Of Strength and Honour) in late 2001. However, the real takeoff for the band is generally held to be their 2003 release, Kivenkantaja (Stonebearer). In 2005 the band followed it up with their fourth full-length album, Verisäkeet (Blood Verses), which spanned over seventy minutes in length despite containing only five songs. The album was also their first to use ambience such as birdsong and crackling fire in place of silence between tracks.

In January 2006 the band played their first US show at the Heathen Crusade metalfest in Columbia Heights, MN. On March 7, 2006, Moonsorrow announced on their official website that they had signed a 2-album contract with Spinefarm Records, and that their next album was slated for release in late 2006. On June 19 it was revealed that the upcoming album would feature guest vocals by Thomas Väänänen, the former vocalist of Thyrfing. Sometime afterward there was an announcement that the release of the album, titled Viides Luku - Hävitetty (Chapter five - Ravaged), had been delayed to January 10, 2007. The album contained only two tracks and displayed more overt influence from progressive rock.

On January 14th, 2008, Moonsorrow announced that they were working on a new EP called Tulimyrsky. The release date was April 30th. The EP is over one hour long and contains one new song (the title track), two remakes of old songs and two cover songs.[3] It was released worldwide by Moonsorrow's label Spinefarm Records and on May 9th in Germany, Austria and Switzerland by the German label Drakkar Entertainment.[4]

In March 2011 saw the release of Varjoina Kuljemme Kuolleiden Maassa, their 6th full-length album for which Moonsorrow has toured in Europe, Asia and North America.


Jumalten aika / 2016

01. Jumalten aika
02. Ruttolehto incl. Päivättömän päivän kansa
03. Suden tunti
04. Mimisbrunn
05. Ihmisen aika (Kumarrus pimeyteen)
06. Soulless (Grave cover; bonus track)
07. Non Serviam (Rotting Christ cover; bonus track)

Varjoina kuljemme kuolleiden maassa / 2011

01. Tähdetön
02. Hävitetty
03. Muinaiset
04. Nälkä, väsymys ja epätoivo
05. Huuto
06. Kuolleille
07. Kuolleiden maa

Viides luku – Hävitetty / 2007

01. Jäästä syntynyt/Varjojen virta
02. Tuleen ajettu maa

Verisäkeet / 2005

01. Karhunkynsi
02. Haaska
03. Pimeä
04. Jotunheim
05. Kaiku

Kivenkantaja / 2003

01. Raunioilla
02. Unohduksen lapsi
03. Jumalten kaupunki/Tuhatvuotinen perintö
04. Kivenkantaja
05. Tuulen tytär/Soturin tie
06. Matkan lopussa

Suden uni / 2001

01. Ukkosenjumalan poika
02. Köyliönjärven jäällä (Pakanavedet II)
03. Kuin ikuinen
04. Tuulen koti, aaltojen koti
05. Pakanajuhla
06. 1065: Aika
07. Suden uni
08. Tulkaapa äijät!

Voimasta ja kunniasta / 2001

01. Tyven
02. Sankarihauta
03. Kylän päässä
04. Hiidenpelto/Häpeän hiljaiset vedet
05. Aurinko ja kuu
06. Sankaritarina



David Caracandas
Firebird Industries – Artist Management & Production

Dragon Productions GmbH
Jörg Dusedau
Rahlstedter Strasse 92 A
22149 Hamburg
Phone: +49 40 675 699 36
Fax: +49 40 677 89 33

Fullsteam Agency
Ari Koskinen
Phone: +358 (9) 2905 0805

Century Media Records


Suden tunti



Henri Sorvali
rhythm and lead guitars, backing and lead vocals, keyboards
Ville Sorvali
bass, lead vocals
Mitja Harvilahti
lead and rhythm guitars, backing vocals
Markus Eurén
keyboards, backing vocals
Marko Tarvonen
drums, backing vocals, acoustic guitar, percussion

If members listed here are not accurate please inform us at This includes both CURRENT and FORMER members.