This band is no longer active

In 2011, Amoral, bored by the limiting genre definitions offered to them to describe the band's sound, started calling their music "Classic Rock Of The 21st Century". Sure, the tongues were firmly on their cheeks, but there definitely were some valid points to the new, self-appointed title. If the likes of Pink Floyd, Zeppelin, Queen and Sabbath could all venture into many different paths musically under the moniker of Classic Rock, then Amoral could simply not settle for any less.

The title has never been more appropriate than on the band's 6th album, Fallen Leaves & Dead Sparrows. After 2011's Beneath, with it's rave reviews, great fan response and a tour that took the band everywhere from Europe to Japan, with debut shows in the USA and China, Amoral had a clear vision of what it wanted to do on the next album.

"- Very early on in the writing process, we noticed we were leaning towards lenghtier, 'proggy-er' songs, in the vein of Beneath's title track. Those type of songs were the ones we enjoyed playing the most on the Beneath tour, and the ones where we felt the band was at it's best. So it felt natural to try and focus on these aspects for the next album", says Ben Varon, guitarist and founding member of Amoral, who also acted as producer on Fallen Leaves & Dead Sparrows.

"- Another defining guideline came to me a bit later, but made perfect sense with the material we were coming up with: this was to be a concept album. Not only were my lyrical ideas already intervining together, but the songs themselves were starting to paint a bigger picture."

In it's simplest form, Fallen Leaves & Dead Sparrows is about that one big mistake that cannot be undone.

"- People like the idea of second chances, but sometimes that's simply not an option. There are points of no return, desicions you can never undo. You can read into the lyrics as a tale of a drug addict, a relationship gone horribly wrong, longing for days past, fear of getting old... the latter two are probably the ones hitting closest to home for me", Varon chuckles.

While Varon was responsible for the lyrics, writing the music was a fruitful collaboration between him and guitarist Masi Hukari, who joined the group just before the recording of Beneath in 2010.

"- It was great to have Masi there from the very beginning of the writing this time around", Ben says. "- Some of the best moments on the album were written together, feeding off each others ideas. Fallen Leaves & Dead Sparrows also has our bassist Pexi (Pekka Johansson) chipping in with the writing for the first time, which is really cool."

Another first this time around is a collaboration many years in the works. Ever since singer Ari Koivunen joined Amoral in 2008, there has been talks of Marco Hietala (Nightwish, Tarot) producing the vocals on an Amoral album. With the idea sabotaged by schedule clashes on the last two albums, Marco was finally available to oversee the vocal sessions for Fallen Leaves & Dead Sparrows. Ben and Ari spent a week at Marco's home studio in Kuopio, and the stress-free enviroment and Mr. Hietala's input resulted in some of the best vocal performances heard from Koivunen to date.

But enough chitchat, let the music do the talking. Take an hour-long break from the laptops and smartphones, put Fallen Leaves & Dead Sparrows on your stereo and cross that bridge to The Other Side...

"- Amoral is an exciting modern metal band. Great musicianship and they know how to write a song too! Watch out!" - Gus G. / Ozzy Osbourne, Firewind


In Sequence / 2016

01. In Sequence (Prologue)
02. Rude Awakening
03. The Betrayal
04. Sounds of Home
05. The Next One to Go
06. Helping Hands
07. Defuse the Past
08. From the Beginning (The Note Part 2)

Fallen Leaves & Dead Sparrows / 2014

01. On the Other Side Pt. I
02. No Familiar Faces
03. Prolong a Stay
04. Blueprints
05. If Not Here, Where?
06. The Storm Arrives
07. See This Through
08. On The Other Side Pt. II

Beneath / 2011

01. Beneath
02. Wrapped in Barbwire
03. Silhouette
04. Things Left Unsaid
05. (Won’t Go) Home
06. Closure
07. Same Difference
08. Hours of Simplicity
09. Wastelands
10. This Ever Ending Game
11. No Future
12. Of Silent Stares & Fire Lost

Show Your Colors / 2009

01. Random Words
02. Release
03. A Shade of Gray
04. Year of the Suckerpunch
05. Perfection Design
06. Sex N' Satan
07. Song for the Stubborn
08. Vivid
09. Gave Up Easy
10. Last October
11. Exit

Reptile Ride / 2007

01. Leave Your Dead Behind
02. Nervasion
03. Hang Me High
04. Mute
05. Few and Far Between
06. Snake Skin Saddle
07. D-Drop Bop
08. Apocalyptic Sci-Fi Fun
09. Pusher

Decrowning / 2005

01. Showdown
02. Lacrimal Gland
03. Decrowning
04. Tiebreaker
05. Drug of Choice
06. Denial 101
07. Control Cancer
08. Raptus
09. Warp
10. Bleeder

Wound Creations / 2003

01. The Verge
02. Atrocity Evolution
03. Silent Renewal
04. Solvent
05. The Last Round
06. Other Flesh
07. Distract
08. Nothing Daunted
09. Languor Passage
10. Metamorphosis



No contact since band not active


Leave Your Dead Behind

Year of the Suckerpunch


Ben Varon - guitar
Ari Koivunen - lead vocals
Niko Kalliojärvi - guitar, growls/backing vocals
Masi Hukari - guitar, keyboards
Juhana Karlsson - drums
Pekka Johansson - bass

Silver Ots - guitar, bass
Erkki Silvennoinen - bass
Matti Pitkänen - vocals
Ville Sorvali - bass

If members listed here are not accurate please inform us at This includes both CURRENT and FORMER members.