Stratovarius is a Finnish power metal band that formed in 1984. Since their formation, they have released 16 studio albums, 4 DVD and 5 live albums. Along with German bands Helloween, Blind Guardian, and Gamma Ray, Stratovarius is considered one of the leading and most influential groups of the power metal genre. In its history, the band has gone through many chaotic lineup changes and since 1995 there are no founding members of the band that remain. Currently, the longest standing member is singer Timo Kotipelto, who joined in 1994.

Stratovarius was founded as Black Water in August 1984 by singer and drummer Tuomo Lassila, guitarist Staffan Stråhlman, and bassist John Vihervä. Line-up changes soon started to occur, including Timo Tolkki replacing Stråhlman two months later and taking over singing duties as well, and the band expanding to a quintet with the arrival of keyboarist Antti Ikonen the following year. Under this line-up, the band released its first album Fright Night in 1989, with Tolkki acting as sole composer. While various changes of bassist occurred, the band released the albums Twilight Time (1992) and Dreamspace (1994). In 1994, Tolkki decided to stop acting as lead vocalist, with Kotipelto joining the band. After the release of Fourth Dimension in 1995, last remaining founding member Lassila, as well as Ikonen, left the band and were replaced by Jörg Michael and Jens Johansson respectively.

This line-up consisting of Kotipelto, Tolkki, bassist Jari Kainulainen, Johansson and Michael, now recognized as the "classic line-up" of Stratovarius, became the longest line-up in its history (1993-2005). With this line-up, the band released eight albums including most of their popular works (releasing an album with the same line-up than its predecessor for the first time) until the release of a self-titled album in 2005, after which Kainulainen departed and was replaced by Lauri Porra. In 2008 guitarist, sole composer and main lyricist Timo Tolkki, being highly critical of their last album and tired of the tensions between the members, decided to disband Stratovarius. However, at the demand of the rest of the band, he agreed to let them continue as Stratovarius while leaving the band. He subsequently regretted his decision, stating that the current band had nothing to do with Stratovarius which he considered as mainly his own work.

Despite the controversy of Tolkki's departure, the band's following albums Polaris (2009) and Elysium (2011), the first albums with Porra and new guitarist Matias Kupiainen in which all members except Michael were part of the songwriting process, received positive reception, with various critics and fans considering it their best albums in the last decade. After a small "Farewell Jörg" tour in Finland, Jörg Michael departed for personal reasons in 2012. With new drummer Rolf Pilve, the band released Nemesis in 2013 and Eternal in 2015.


Eternal / 2015

01. My Eternal Dream
02. Shine in the Dark
03. Rise Above It
04. Lost Without a Trace
05. Feeding the Fire
06. In My Line of Work
07. Man in the Mirror
08. Few Are Those
09. Fire in Your Eyes
10. The Lost Saga

Nemesis / 2013

01. Abandon
02. Unbreakable
03. Stand My Ground
04. Halcyon Days
05. Fantasy
06. Out of the Fog
07. Castles in the Air
08. Dragons
09. One Must Fall
10. If the Story Is Over
11. Nemesis

Elysium / 2011

01. Darkest Hours
02. Under Flaming Skies
03. Infernal Maze
04. Fairness Justified
05. The Game Never Ends
06. Lifetime in a Moment
07. Move the Mountain
08. Event Horizon
09. Elysium

Polaris / 2009

01. Deep Unknown
02. Falling Star
03. King of Nothing
04. Blind
05. Winter Skies
06. Forever Is Today
07. Higher We Go
08. Somehow Precious
09. Emancipation Suite Part I: Dusk
10. Emancipation Suite Part II: Dawn
11. When Mountains Fall

Stratovarius / 2005

01. Maniac Dance
02. Fight!!!
03. Just Carry On
04. Back to Madness
05. Gypsy in Me
06. Götterdämmerung (Zenith of Power)
07. The Land of Ice and Snow
08. Leave the Tribe
09. United

Elements Pt. 1 / 2003

01. Eagleheart
02. Soul of a Vagabond
03. Find Your Own Voice
04. Fantasia
05. Learning to Fly
06. Papillon
07. Stratofortress
08. Elements
09. A Drop in the Ocean

Elements Pt. 2 / 2003

01. Alpha & Omega
02. I Walk to My Own Song
03. I'm Still Alive
04. Season of Faith's Perfection
05. Awaken the Giant
06. Know the Difference
07. Luminous
08. Dreamweaver

Intermission / 2001

01. Will My Soul Ever Rest in Peace?
02. Falling into Fantasy
03. The Curtains Are Falling
04. Requiem
05. Bloodstone
06. Kill the King
07. I Surrender
08. Keep the Flame
09. Why Are We Here?
10. What Can I Say
11. Dream with Me
12. When the Night Meets the Day
13. It's a Mystery
14. Cold Winter Nights
15. Hunting High & Low

Infinite / 2000

01. Hunting High and Low
02. Millennium
03. Mother Gaia
04. Phoenix
05. Glory of the World
06. A Million Light Years Away
07. Freedom
08. Infinity
09. Celestial Dream

Destiny / 1998

01. Destiny
02. SOS
03. No Turning Back
04. 4000 Rainy Nights
05. Rebel
06. Years Go By
07. Playing with Fire
08. Venus in the Morning
09. Anthem of the World

Visions / 1997

01. The Kiss of Judas
02. Black Diamond
03. Forever Free
04. Before the Winter
05. Legions
06. The Abyss of Your Eyes
07. Holy Light
08. Paradise
09. Coming Home
10. Visions (Southern Cross)

Episode / 1996

01. Father Time
02. Will the Sun Rise?
03. Eternity
04. Episode
05. Speed of Light
06. Uncertainty
07. Season of Change
08. Stratosphere
09. Babylon
10. Tomorrow
11. Night Time Eclipse
12. Forever

Fourth Dimension / 1995

01. Against the Wind
02. Distant Skies
03. Galaxies
04. Winter
05. Stratovarius
06. Lord of the Wasteland
07. 030366
08. Nightfall
09. We Hold the Key
10. Twilight Symphony
11. Call of the Wilderness

Dreamspace / 1994

01. Chasing Shadows
02. 4th Reich
03. Eyes of the World
04. Hold on to Your Dream
05. Magic Carpet Ride
06. We Are the Future
07. Tears of Ice
08. Dreamspace
09. Reign of Terror
10. Thin Ice
11. Atlantis
12. Abyss
13. Shattered
14. Wings of Tomorrow

Twilight Time / 1992

01. Break the Ice
02. The Hands of Time
03. Madness Strikes at Midnight
04. Metal Frenzy
05. Twilight Time
06. The Hills Have Eyes
07. Out of the Shadows
08. Lead Us into the Light

Fright Night / 1989

01. Future Shock
02. False Messiah
03. Black Night
04. Witch-Hunt
05. Fire Dance
06. Fright Night
07. Night Screamer
08. Darkness
09. Goodbye



Twisted Talent


Future Shock

Break The Ice

Against The Wind

Speed Of Light

Black Diamond

The Kiss Of Judas


Hunting High And Low


Deep Unknown

Under Flaming Skies

Halcyon Days

My Eternal Dream



Timo Kotipelto
lead vocals (1994–present)
Jens Johansson
keyboards (1995–present)
Lauri Porra
bass, live backing vocals (2005–present)
Matias Kupiainen
guitars, live backing vocals (2008–present)
Rolf Pilve
drums (2012–present)


Timo Tolkki
guitars (1985–2008)
lead vocals (1985–1994)
studio backing vocals (1994–2008)
Tuomo Lassila
drums (1984–1995)
lead vocals (1984–1985)
John Vihervä
bass (1984–1987)
Staffan Stråhlman
guitars (1984–1985)
Mika Ervaskari
keyboards (1984–1987, died 2005)
Jyrki Lentonen
bass (1987–1990)
Antti Ikonen
keyboards (1988–1995)
Jari Behm
bass (1989–1993)
Jari Kainulainen
bass (1993–2005)
Jörg Michael
drums (1995–2012)
Katriina "Miss K" Wiiala
lead vocals (2004)

If members listed here are not accurate please inform us at This includes both CURRENT and FORMER members.