It’s not every band whose unique style of metal can coin a new term but Finland’s Whispered aren’t interested in playing by the rules. Melding northern melodic metal, nuances from Japanese folk and symphonic elements and you’re somewhere on the way to Whispered’s ‘samurai metal’.

Formed back in 2004 by vocalist and guitarist Jouni Valjakka, it was clear that from early on his love for Japan and its ancient culture would make its mark on forging the unique Whispered sound. This was cemented when he discovered that traditional Japanese instruments like shamisen, shakuhachi and koto perfectly compliment metal music.

The band’s debut album Thousand Swords, released 2010, was a loose concept album based on the legend of Musashibō Benkei, a japanese monk. Whetting appetites for what would follow, Shogunate Macabre was released in 2014 and was darker than its predecessor, introducing a more brutal and mature version of Whispered without forgetting the melodic and symphonic aspects. The lyrics revolved around Japanese mythology, ghosts and bushido.

The band once again led the way in 2016 with the release of their third and epic masterpiece Metsutan – Songs of the Void out on May 20th via Redhouse FMP / Inverse Records. The album received huge praise from the metal medias all over the world, and the band also stated that this is their best work yet.

Whispered has made their mark in the live circuit making notable appearance in major festivals in Finland, such as Tuska Open Air, Nummirock etc. as well as supporting the likes of Korpiklaani, Turisas, Ensiferum and reaching as far as Japan in 2013. 2016 is proving to be the busiest year for Whispered yet. With several shows in Finland plus an appearance at UK's top metal festival Bloodstock Open Air followed by an extensive UK tour in the fall.


METSUTAN - Songs of The Void / 2016

01. 血ノ舞 - Chi No Odori
02. Strike!
03. Exile of the Floating World
04. Sakura Omen
05. 劍聖 - Tsukiakari
06. Our Voice Shall Be Heard
07. 月明 - Kensei
08. Warriors of Yama
09. Victory Grounds Nothing
10. Bloodred Shores of Enoshima

Shogunate Macabre / 2014

01. Jikininki
02. Hold the Sword
03. Fallen Amaterasu
04. One Man's Burden
05. Kappa
06. Lady of the Wind
07. Unrestrained
08. Upon My Honor

Thousand Swords / 2010

01. Intro - Hajimari
02. Thousand Swords
03. Faceless
04. Of Honor
05. Dead Cold Inside
06. Fear Never Within
07. Blindfold
08. Wrath of Heaven
09. Blade in the Snow




Nem Agency
Iiro Laitinen
+358 (0)45 259 3030






Jouni Valjakka
vocals, guitar
Mikko Mattila
Jussi Kallava
Kai Palo
vocals, bass

If members listed here are not accurate please inform us at webmaster@metalfromfinland.com This includes both CURRENT and FORMER members.