This band is no longer active

In 2003, their first album, Escapexstacy was on the Finnish national charts for 3 weeks, peaking at No. 21. They opened for Iron Maiden at the Hartwall Areena in Helsinki on December 21, 2003 for the Dance of Death World Tour.

Singer Juha-Pekka Leppäluoto left in the autumn of 2003 to concentrate on his work with Charon. Ville Laihiala, the band's principal songwriter, assumed vocal duties and has since led Poisonblack out of the gothic genre of their first album and in a musical direction that closely mirrors that of his former band Sentenced.

In 2006, they toured Europe with Lacuna Coil and their second album, Lust Stained Despair reached No. 2 in Finland for 1 week.

In 2008 they released "A Dead Heavy Day" which hit the Finnish Album Chart in position 6. After this success they toured Europe with Dark Tranquillity and Fear My Thoughts. In 2010 Poisonblack released "Of Rust And Bones", their fourth album. The fifth album "Drive" was released in 2011 on Hype Records and the band´s latest album "Lyijy" was released in September 2013 by Warner Music Finland. The album reached #4 on the Finnish album chart.

On August 23, 2015, singer Ville Laihiala posted a statement on the band's Facebook page and website stating that the band had broken up.


Lyijy / 2013

01. Home Is Where the Sty Is
02. Down the Ashes Rain
03. The Flavor of the Month
04. The Absentee
05. Maybe Life Is Not for Everyone
06. Death by the Blues
07. The Halfway Bar
08. Them Walls
09. Blackholehead
10. Pull the Trigger
11. Elämän kevät

Drive / 2011

01. Piston Head
02. Mercury Falling
03. A Good Day for the Crows
04. Maggot Song
05. From Now-here to Nowhere
06. Sycophant
07. The Dead-End Stream
08. Futile Man
09. Scars
10. Driftwood

Of Rust and Bones / 2010

01. Sun Shines Black
02. Leech
03. My World
04. Buried Alive
05. Invisible
06. Casket Case
07. Down the Drain
08. Alone
09. The Last Song

A Dead Heavy Day / 2008

01. Introuder
02. Diane
03. Left Behind
04. Bear the Cross
05. A Dead Heavy Day
06. Me, Myself, & I
07. X
08. Human-Compost
09. The Days Between
10. Hatelove
11. Lowlife
12. Only You Can Tear Me Apart

Lust Stained Despair / 2006

01. Nothing Else Remains
02. Hollow Be My Name
03. The Darkest Lie
04. Rush
05. Nail
06. Raivotar
07. Soul in Flames
08. Pain Becomes Me
09. Never Enough
10. Love Controlled Despair
11. The Living Dead

Escapexstacy / 2003

01. The Glow of the Flames
02. Love Infernal
03. The State
04. All Else Is Hollow
05. In Lust
06. Exciter
07. Lay Your Heart to Rest
08. With Her I Die
09. Illusion/Delusion
10. The Kiss of Death



No contact since band is not active



Home Is Where The Sty Is

Bear The Cross

Love Infernal

Mercury Falling

Down The Ashes Rain



Ville Laihiala
Vocals (2004–2015)
Lead Guitars (2000–2015)
Antti Remes
Bass (2004–2015)
Marco Sneck
Keyboards (2000–2015)
Tarmo Kanerva
Drums (2000–2015)


Juha-Pekka Leppäluoto
Vocals (2001–2003)
Janne Dahlgren
Guitars (2000–2003)
Janne Markus
Guitars (2004–2010)
Janne Kukkonen
Bass (2000–2004)

If members listed here are not accurate please inform us at webmaster@metalfromfinland.com This includes both CURRENT and FORMER members.