This band is no longer active

NORTHER was originally formed by Kristian Ranta, Jukka Koskinen, Tuomas Planman, Petri Lindroos and Toni Hallio in the year 2000 after various of early stage band formations. The band kicked into gear with its debut release "Dreams of Endless War" through Spinefarm Records in 2002. The first album entered the Finnish charts at position 17, and the response was excellent. The band began playing shows in and around the Helsinki area, and the buzz grew like wildfire. Being prolific songwriters, they almost had an album's worth of material ready before the debut record was released in every corner of the world. Soon the guys barricaded themselves inside the famous Astia Studio with producer extraordinaire, Anssi Kippo.

The album 'Mirror of Madness' came out in early 2003 entering the Finnish charts at position 11. It was a step forward for the band, a logical continuation of the onslaught begun with "Dreams of Endless War". A step towards a more old-school sound combined with their intense approach to modern death/black metal. After touring with Dimmu Borgir and Hypocrisy in late 2003 the band went back to the studio to record the successor of "Mirror of Madness". In early 2004, NORTHER released its third full length album "Death Unlimited". It received very good feedback from the media all around the world. It also hit the Finnish charts for weeks like the previous albums at position 17. "Death Unlimited" was probably the heaviest NORTHER sound so far. The style had also changed into more death metal and atmospheric feelings.

NORTHER played several shows in 2005 and then recorded an EP, "Solution7" to release some unheard material. This piece was recorded at Astia Studio with close friend and Producer Anssi Kippo and was also featured in the official Finnish charts at position 5. This time NORTHER wanted to bring in something new, adding Kristian's clean vocals for extra spice.

In the summer of 2005, NORTHER headed to Studio Fredman in Gothenburg, Sweden (In Flames, Soilwork, Hammerfall, Arch Enemy, Opeth etc.) to record their fourth full length album named "Till Death Unites Us" with producers Fredrik Nordström & Patrick J. Sten. Soon after the recordings of the album Toni Hallio left the band to pursue other interests. It didn’t take long until Heikki Saari was found to take over on drums. After the release in January 2006, "Till Death Unites Us" got an excellent response in Finland hitting the official Finnish charts position 6 and was also praised abroad. It showed rage but also delivered the softest songs in the band's history.

Later the same year the band composed the theme song (Frozen Angel) for a major Finnish feature film, "V2 – Dead Angel" produced by Solarfilms Inc. The band is also featured in the film. In February 2007 NORTHER released a new EP, 'No Way Back', which only came out in Finland and later in Japan. The record immediately hit position number 1 in the Finnish charts.

Later that year the band had great club gigs and festival appearances across Europe (Wacken, Masters of Rock, etc.) while writing new material for their forthcoming album. Early August the guys entered the Astia Studios to record the new album with Anssi Kippo. After a two month session the band played sold out shows in Finland, re-visited Studio Fredman to mix the album and then hit the road again with Amoral & Drone for a European tour.

Finally to crown their achievements, NORTHER signed a new deal with Marquee Avalon and with Century Media Records!So now everything is ready to rock the boat worldwide with their newest release entitled "N" hitting the stores early 2008! NORTHER's most mature and diverse effort to date. NORTHER is reborn!


Circle Regenerated / 2011

01. Through It All
02. The Hate I Bear
03. Truth
04. Some Day
05. Break Myself Away
06. Believe
07. Falling
08. We Do Not Care
09. The Last Time
10. Closing In

N / 2008

01. My Antichrist
02. Frozen Angel
03. Down
04. To Hell
05. Savior
06. Black Gold
07. We Rock
08. Always & Never
09. Tell Me Why
10. If You Go
11. Self-Righteous Fuck
12. Forever and Ever

Till Death Unites Us / 2006

01. Throwing My Life Away
02. Drowning
03. Norther
04. Everything
05. Evil Ladies
06. Omen
07. Scream
08. Fuck You
09. Alone In the End
10. Die
11. Wasted Years
12. The End of Our Lives

Death Unlimited / 2004

01. Nightfal
02. Deep Inside
03. Death Unlimited
04. Chasm
05. Vain
06. A Fallen Star
07. The Cure
08. Day of Redemption
09. Beneath
10. Hollow
11. Nothing
12. Going Nowhere

Mirror of Madness / 2003

01. Blackhearted
02. Betrayed
03. Of Darkness and Light
04. Midnight Walker
05. Cry
06. Everything Is an End
07. Unleash Hell
08. Dead
09. Mirror of Madness

Dreams of Endless War / 2002

01. Darkest Time
02. Last Breath
03. Released
04. Endless War
05. Dream
06. Victorious One
07. Nothing Left
08. The Last Night
09. Final Countdown (Europe cover)



No contact since band not active


Frozen Angel

Mirror of Madness

Death unlimited

We Rock




Kristian "Kride" Ranta
clean vocals, guitars (2000–2012)
Jukka "Jukkis" Koskinen
bass (2000–2012)
Tuomas Planman
keyboards, synthesizers, electronics (2001–2012)
Heikki Saari
drums (2005–2012)
Aleksi Sihvonen
harsh vocals (2009–2012)
Daniel Freyberg
guitars, backing vocals (2009–2012)


Petri Lindroos
harsh vocals, guitars (1996–2009)
Toni Hallio
drums (1996–2005)
Roni Korpas
guitars (1996–1999)
Tuomas "Stubu"
bass (1996–1997)
Joakim Ekroos
bass (2000)
Sebastian Knight
keyboards (2000)

If members listed here are not accurate please inform us at This includes both CURRENT and FORMER members.