This band is no longer active

Sinergy formed when the then Dimmu Borgir keyboard player Kimberly Goss met with In Flames guitarist Jesper Strömblad during a joint world tour. They discussed the idea of assembling a female-fronted metal band, but were unable to achieve this due to time constraints.

When Kimberly quit Dimmu Borgir and moved to Sweden, she decided that it was time to turn her project with Strömblad into a reality. The first incarnation of Sinergy was composed of them, bassist Sharlee D'Angelo (from Arch Enemy and Mercyful Fate), drummer Ronny Milianowicz and guitarist Alexi Laiho (from Children of Bodom).

The debut album Beware the Heavens was recorded in 1999 and had a basic concept: returning to the essence of woman-fronted metal bands, throwing aside the operatic elements introduced in the 90’s, and bringing back the style of singers such as Doro Pesch (from Doro and Warlock).

The album sold rather well and was received with excitement by European metal fans, but Sinergy was facing serious problems when it came to managing the time its members spent with their main bands. To complicate matters further, Kimberly moved to Finland by the end of the same year, making it almost impossible for them to meet regularly, with three of the band members residing in Sweden.

Thus, the band was essentially dissolved, but Kimberly and Alexi wanted to continue with the project. They assembled a new line-up, composed of Finnish members only. Roope Latvala (founding member of Stone, one of the bands which started the heavy metal movement in Finland) assumed the position of rhythm guitarist, Marco Hietala (from Tarot) became the bassist and Tonmi Lillman was chosen as the new drummer. This line-up recorded To Hell and Back and subsequently toured with Nightwish. By that time, Sinergy was starting to receive world recognition. This tour is perhaps most notable for being included on Nightwish's DVD release of From Wishes to Eternity, during which band members played a practical joke in which a selection of support musicians made their way on stage pretending to be Nightwish. Ironically, Marco Hietala filled the role of Nightwish’s bassist Sami, who he was to replace on their next album.

Soon after the recording of the third album Lillman left the band. He was soon replaced by Barathrum drummer Janne Parviainen. Bassist Marco left the band shortly after, presumably due to his Nightwish commitments. The position was eventually given to Lauri Porra from metal band Warmen.

A fourth Sinergy album, Sins of the Past, began production in 2004, but due to Children of Bodom's busy schedule the album was never completed. In 2007 Roope Latvala performed a song with bassist Lauri Porra and drummer Janne Parviainen for the album "Guitar Heroes" featuring some of Finland's leading guitarists. Latvala stated that he had originally written the song for Sins of the Past. According to Laiho, Sinergy has disbanded and is no longer an active music project.


Suicide by My Side / 2002

01. I Spit on Your Grave
02. The Sin Trade
03. Violated
04. Me, Myself, My Enemy
05. Written in Stone
06. Nowhere for No One
07. Passage to the Fourth World
08. Shadow Island
09. Suicide by My Side
10. Remembrance

To Hell and Back / 2000

01. The Bitch Is Back
02. Midnight Madness
03. Lead Us to War
04. Laid to Rest
05. Gallowmere
06. Return to the Fourth World
07. Last Escape
08. Wake Up in Hell
09. Hanging on the Telephone

Beware the Heavens / 1999

01. Venomous Vixens
02. The Fourth World
03. Born Unto Fire and Passion
04. The Warrior Princess
05. Beware the Heavens
06. Razorblade Salvation
07. Swarmed
08. Pulsation
09. Virtual Future



No contact since band not active


Midnight Madness

Suicide By My Side



Kimberly "Kim" Goss
lead vocals, keyboards (1997-2004)
Alexi Laiho
lead guitar, backing vocals (1997-2004)
Roope Latvala
lead guitar (1999-2004)
Janne Parviainen
drums (2002-2004)
Lauri Porra
bass (2002-2004)


Jesper Strömblad
lead guitar (1997–1999)
Sharlee D'Angelo
bass (1997–1999)
Ronny Milianowicz
drums (1997–1999)
Marco Hietala
bass, backing vocals (1999–2002)
Tonmi Lillman
drums (1999–2002; died 2012)


Erna Siikavirta
keyboards (1999)
Jaska Raatikainen
drums (2000)

If members listed here are not accurate please inform us at This includes both CURRENT and FORMER members.