Ruoska was formed in 2002, with some of the same members from the previous comical rock band Natsipaska. They released their debut album Kuori the same year. Fans and critics alike recognized a new type of music in Ruoska, and the fanbase began to gradually grow. After making two music videos, "Kiroan" and "Epilogi", and releasing one single, "Aurinko ei Nouse", the band returned to the studio and recorded their second album, Riisu in 2003, from which came one single: "Darmstadt". After this release, Ruoska established a much more industrial sound and had more machines involved. Their popularity took a big step forward when Till Lindemann, the lead singer of the German Neue Deutsche Härte band Rammstein, commented in a Finnish magazine interview on the new single "Darmstadt" by saying that it was "most noticeable". After doing a few gigs, the Ruoska's lead singer Patrik Mennander joined the Finnish symphonic metal band Battlelore for a while.

After returning to the band, Mennander and Ruoska started working on a new album, and shortly after that, in 2005, Radium was released. The new album, which had a hybrid electro, pop-rock and metal sound, brought a lot of new fans to the band. One single and music video from the album were released (Tuonen Viemää). At this point the band was well noticed throughout Finland, and begun to gain popularity on an international level. Ruoska also made a decision to change from Kråklund Records to a multinational recording company, EMI Music. When they went back to the studio, Ruoska created a new unique sound that was represented by their new album, Amortem in 2006. The singles "Mies yli Laidan", "Alasin" and "Pure Minua" were big hits, and "Mies yli Laidan" and "Alasin" were turned into music videos, "Mies yli Laidan" immediately being very popular. The album itself debuted at sixth place in Finnish radio charts for almost 10 weeks. After the release of Amortem, one of the band's guitarists, Kai Ahvenranta, left the band to be more with his family, although he still continues to do studio work with the band. The band grew bigger than ever before and, now with a large fanbase, Ruoska had new gigs such as Puustock 2007 and Välipuistorock 2007.

Ruoska's fifth album Rabies was released on April 9, 2008. Two singles from this album, "Pirunkieli" and "Helvettiin Jäätynyt" (released before the album) became hits, but not as big as Mies yli laidan and Alasin. They released a music video for "Ei Koskaan", which had a direct connection with the music video "Mies yli laidan". Ruoska's "Rabies tour" lasted from 29 March 2008 to 17 May 2008. The band's success is continuously spreading all across Europe, and in the U.S. and South America as well. At Jurassic Rock on August 8, 2008, Mennander said that Ruoska would be on hiatus for about a year. In May 2009, Ruoska announced that they will have a gig at Motopark Festival on July 18, 2009. At that gig, the band's drummer was Timo Laatikainen. It was also announced that Ruoska was no longer with EMI. Whether or not they are currently unsigned or with another label is unknown. EMI had an option with Ruoska for one more album, but the option was not used because of the lack of new songs.

From year 2009 Ruoska has had few gigs occassionally around Finland with the new drummer Teemu Karppinen and they seem to keep doing it that way.

In local city magazine "Mikkelin kaupunkilehti (nr. 30/2011", they announced that they have some new songs in demo stage. Also, according to the interview they are not planning to retire in near future and there has also been some plans about touring in Poland.


Rabies / 2008

01. Saarnaaja
02. Lihaa vasten lihaa
03. Helvettiin jäätynyt
04. Ei koskaan
05. Pirunkieli
06. Vankilani
07. Valtaa, väkivaltaa
08. Pakkomielle
09. Porttikielto taivaaseen
10. Sotasokea

Amortem / 2006

01. Intro
02. Amortem
03. Pure minua
04. Taivas palaa
05. Järvet jäihin jää
06. Sika
07. Viiden tähden helvetti
08. Mies yli laidan
09. Tuonen orjat
10. Alasin
11. Kesä tulla saa

Radium / 2005

01. Veriura
02. Kosketa
03. Käärmeenpesä
04. Irti
05. Tuonen viemää
06. Kiiraslapsi
07. Multaa ja loskaa
08. Narua
09. Rumavirsi
10. Herraa hyvää kiittäkää
11. Isän kädestä

Riisu / 2003

01. Elon tiellä
02. Puhe
03. Darmstadt
04. Kuka luopuisi kuolemastaan
05. Synkät soinnut, rujot riimit
06. Riisu
07. Työmiehen haudalla
08. Rauta valittaa
09. Airut
10. Maailmanlopun pyörä
11. Piruparka

Kuori / 2002

01. Kuori
02. Koti
03. Kiroan
04. Ruma rakkaus
05. Perkeleet
06. Epilogi
07. Propagandaa
08. Aurinko ei nouse
09. Armo
10. Moraoikeus
11. Suomi lukuina



No contact info available


Tuonen viemää


Mies yli laidan

Ei Koskaan


Helvettiin jäätynyt



Patrik Mennander
lead vocals
Anssi Auvinen
guitar, backing vocals
Mika Kamppi
bass, backing vocals
Teemu Karppinen


Sami Karppinen
Kai Ahvenranta
guitar, backing vocals
Timo Laatikainen
drums, percussions

If members listed here are not accurate please inform us at This includes both CURRENT and FORMER members.