Doom has always been a style for a rather select but also very dedicated audience. Among the aficionados, HOODED MENACE have quickly become a household name for authenticity and excellence.

With their upcoming fifth album, 'Ossuarium Silhouettes Unhallowed', the Finns continue to impress with immaculate songwriting skills and the perfect balance between harsh death metal fuelled outbursts and exquisite melodic melancholy.

HOODED MENACE were formed in Joensuu, Finland in 2007 by guitarist Lasse Pyykkö, who had also performed in the Finnish cult death metal band PHLEGETHON. The band has always avowed to the strong influence by early CANDLEMASS and CATHEDRAL as well as PARADISE LOST, AUTOPSY, ASPHYX, and WINTER. Their lyrics are often inspired by the classic 1970's Spanish horror movie series 'The Blind Dead'.

HOODED MENACE recorded a 2-track demo, 'The Eyeless Horde' in 2007, which was released on 7" the following year. Their debut album 'Fulfill the Curse' was released in 2008 and the highly acclaimed sophomore full-length 'Never Cross the Dead' came out in 2010. HOODED MENACE remained in a highly creative mode and delivered 'Effigies of Evil' in 2012 and their latest milestone, 'Darkness Drips Forth' in 2015. With a penchant for classic vinyl, the Finns also released several split singles and EPs for example with ASPHYX and COFFINS.

HOODED MENACE toured in Europe and North America, and performed at many major metal festivals such as Hellfest, Roadburn, Maryland Deathfest, Tuska, and Party San Open Air among others.

Now the time has once again come, when HOODED MENACE unleash skeletal horror and sombre despair onto their craving audience. The dead shall ride on 'Ossuarium Silhouettes Unhallowed' and the living shall rejoice!


Darkness Drips Forth / 2015

01. Blood For The Burning Oath / Dungeons Of The Disembodied 11:21
02. Elysium Of Dripping Death 11:33
03. Ashen With Solemn Decay 9:47
04. Beyond Deserted Flesh

Effigies Of Evil / 2012

01. Vortex Macabre
02. Effigies Of Evil
03. In The Dead We Dwell
04. Curses Scribed In Gore
05. Crumbling Insanity
06. Summoned Into Euphoric Madness
07. Evoken Vulgarity
08. Retribution In Eternity

Never Cross The Dead / 2009

01. Never Cross The Dead
02. Terror Castle
03. Night Of The Deathcult
04. The House Of Hammer
05. Rituals Of Portal Cremation
06. As The Creatures Ascend
07. From Their Coffined Slumber
08. Theme From Return Of The Evil Dead

Fulfill The Curse / 2008

01. Rotting Rampage (Menace Of The Skeletal Dead)
02. Fulfill The Curse
03. Grasp Of The Beastwoman
04. Laboratory Of Nightmares
05. Beauty And The Feast
06. The Eyeless Horde
07. The Love Song Of Gotho, Hunchback Of The Morgue
08. Arcane Epitaph



Season of Mist




Crumbling Insanity



Harri Kuokkanen
Lasse Pyykkö
lead and rhythm guitar, bass
Teemu Hannonen
rhythm guitar
Pekka Koskelo

If members listed here are not accurate please inform us at webmaster@metalfromfinland.com This includes both CURRENT and FORMER members.