Over the last decade Insomnium has slowly but surely made itself a household name among the melodic deathsters. Formed in 1997 in a somnolent town of Joensuu, in eastern Finland, these stern men have ever since redefined the boundaries of the genre. Two highly acclaimed demos already set the standard and in 2001 the band signed to UK label Candlelight Records.

At this point the founding members Markus Hirvonen (drums), Ville Friman (guitars) and Niilo Sevänen (vocals and bass) attached guitarist Ville Vänni to the band. The triumphant line-up had been born. Debut album In the Halls of Awaiting (2002) introduced a young and fierce band that combined aggression and violent riffing to melancholic atmosphere. Marriage of Scandinavian death metal and traditional Finnish tunes, catchy but progressive, melodic but brutal – these have been the Insomnium trademarks ever since. Debut was praised all over the metal world but the band still remained the Finland’s best kept secret.

With Since the Day It All Came Down (2004) the band moved further from the beaten paths of the genre. Album was darker, more challenging and the songs took meandering pathways: a rewarding journey for those who dare to take it. Exaltations followed, the prestige grew. In 2005 Insomnium made its first real tour outside Finland as they hit the shores of UK. The road had been long, narrow and rocky, but now things started to roll.

Third album Above the Weeping World (2006) was the breakthrough. Compositions and arrangements had reached a new pinnacle and the overall sound was heavier and richer. Album was tighter, meaner and more menacing than ever. Long-time friend Aleksi Munter did the epic keyboard parts which added a whole new layer to the songs. Album took the 9th spot on the Finnish album charts, Mortal Share video blared in MTV and Insomnium made long tours in Europe and North America with bands like Amorphis, Katatonia, Enslaved and Satyricon.

New album Across the Dark (2009) shows a band that knows its strenghts but isn’t afraid to evolve. Crux of the music is still melodic death metal but nuances are giving it a unique flavor. Keyboards are overwhelmingly epic and there are some stunning clean vocals by Jules Näveri. Bit of folk metal, pinch of doom, some thrashing, a whole lot of timeless melodies and progressive twists and there you have it: ingredients of the masterpiece.


Winter's Gate / 2016

01. Winter's Gate
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
Part 7

Shadows of the Dying Sun / 2014

01. The Primeval Dark
02. While We Sleep
03. Revelation
04. Black Heart Rebellion
05. Lose to Night
06. Collapsing Words
07. The River
08. Ephemeral
09. The Promethean Song
10. Shadows of the Dying Sun

One for Sorrow / 2011

01. Inertia
02. Through the Shadows
03. Song of the Blackest Bird
04. Only One Who Waits
05. Unsung
06. Every Hour Wounds
07. Decoherence
08. Lay the Ghost to Rest
09. Regain the Fire
10. One for Sorrow

Across the Dark / 2009

01. Equivalence
02. Down with the Sun
03. Where the Last Wave Broke
04. The Harrowing Years
05. Against the Stream
06. Lay of the Autumn
07. Into the Woods
08. Weighed down with Sorrow

Above the Weeping World / 2006

01. The Gale
02. Mortal Share
03. Drawn to Black
04. Change of Heart
05. At the Gates of Sleep
06. The Killjoy
07. Last Statement
08. Devoid of Caring
09. In the Groves of Death

Since the Day It All Came Down / 2004

01. Nocturne
02. The Day It All Came Down
03. Daughter of the Moon
04. The Moment of Reckoning
05. Bereavement
06. Under the Plaintive Sky
07. Resonance
08. Death Walked the Earth
09. Disengagement
10. Closing Words
11. Song of the Forlorn Son

In the Halls of Awaiting / 2002

01. Ill-Starred Son
02. Song of the Storm
03. Medeia
04. Dying Chant
05. The Elder
06. Black Waters
07. Shades of Deep Green
08. The Bitter End
09. Journey Unknown
10. In the Halls of Awaiting



Mr. Volkmar Udri

Live Nation Finland OY
Jukka Varmo
mobile: +358-50 5791597

Mr. John Finberg

Ms. Birgit Luhmeyer for Europe (rest of the world excluding North America & Finland)

Ms. Stephanie Shoulders for North America

Ms. Liina Rislakki for Finland

Killjoy Productions OY

Madsupply / Backstage Rock Shop

Schaeferstrasse 33a
44147 Dortmund
Tel: +49 231 8297 0
Fax: +49 231 8297 101
Email: @


While We Sleep

Through The Shadows

Weather The Storm

One For Sorrow

Down With the Sun

Regain The Fire

Only One Who Waits



Niilo Sevänen
lead vocals, bass (1997−present)
Ville Friman
guitars (1997−present)
clean vocals (2011−present)
Markus Hirvonen
drums (1997−present)
Markus Vanhala
guitars (2011−present)


Tapani Pesonen
drums, guitars (1997−1998)
Timo Partanen
guitars (1998−2001)
Ville Vänni
guitars (2001−2011)

If members listed here are not accurate please inform us at This includes both CURRENT and FORMER members.